Goodnotes vs Napkin
A side-by-side look at pricing plans, free tiers, features, pros and cons, updated for 2026. Goodnotes starts at $11.99/yr and Napkin starts at See pricing page. Check both pricing pages for current plans.
At a glance
Best for
Category
Pricing model
Starting price
Free plan
Made by
Based in
Rating
Key features
- Handwritten notes
- PDF annotation
- Handwriting search
- AI math and summaries
- Audio recording
- Quick idea capture
- Text scanning from books
- Dictation
- Daily flow of saved ideas
- AI topic suggestions
| Feature | Goodnotes | Napkin |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Handwritten note-taking app with AI search, math help and summaries | Idea-collecting app that resurfaces quotes and thoughts with AI |
| Category | Productivity | Productivity |
| Pricing model | Freemium | Freemium |
| Starting price | $11.99/yr | See pricing page |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Made by | Goodnotes | Napkin |
| Based in | – | – |
| Rating | No ratings yet | No ratings yet |
| Key features |
|
|
Pricing compared
Goodnotes starts at $11.99/yr and Napkin starts at See pricing page. Check both pricing pages for current plans.
Free plan
Cheapest paid plan
Top plan
Free trial
5 plans
Free
Free
- Up to 3 files, 5MB imports
- 20 mins of audio recording
Essential
$11.99/yr
- Unlimited files
- Unlimited audio recording
- Limited AI capabilities
Pro
$35.99/yr
- Real-time collaboration
- Sync across devices
- AI capabilities
Teams
$120/yr
- Per seat
- SAML SSO and domain control
- Consolidated billing
Enterprise
Custom
- Customizable solutions
- Microsoft Intune App SDK
Prices in USD, checked Oct 28, 2026 or later. Plans change often, so confirm on each tool's site before you buy.
Pros and cons
Goodnotes
- Excellent handwriting experience
- Works across many devices
- Good for studying
- Free plan limits notebooks
- AI features are paid
Napkin
- Several ways to add ideas quickly
- Brings old notes back into view
- Simple, focused use
- Pricing not stated on the homepage
- AI features are modest in scope
- Less suited to long-form documents
Which one should you choose?
Choose Goodnotes if you want:
- Excellent handwriting experience
- Works across many devices
- Good for studying
Watch out: free plan limits notebooks.
Choose Napkin if you want:
- Several ways to add ideas quickly
- Brings old notes back into view
- Simple, focused use
Watch out: pricing not stated on the homepage.
Goodnotes vs Napkin FAQ
What is the difference between Goodnotes and Napkin?
Goodnotes: Handwritten note-taking app with AI search, math help and summaries. Napkin: Idea-collecting app that resurfaces quotes and thoughts with AI. Both are productivity tools.
Is Goodnotes or Napkin cheaper?
Goodnotes starts at $11.99/yr and Napkin starts at See pricing page. Check both pricing pages for current plans.
Do Goodnotes and Napkin have free plans?
Goodnotes: Yes. Napkin: Yes.
Who makes Goodnotes?
Goodnotes is made by Goodnotes.
Who makes Napkin?
Napkin is made by Napkin.
Which should I choose, Goodnotes or Napkin?
Choose Goodnotes if you value excellent handwriting experience and works across many devices. Choose Napkin if you value several ways to add ideas quickly and brings old notes back into view.